Birthdays!

Birthdays! I had one! I am now 30. I’m quite looking forward to my thirties to be honest. I’m hoping for at least a little improvement on my late twenties.

Some of my friends really caught on to just how much i like yarn this year. I’m very impressed, pleased and excited by a few of my presents!

my darling nett and greg got me Ixchel’s sock club. And Charly, as always, has been a star, sending the first shipment to them so they could give it to me in person and the rest here to me, all with a happy birthday message! Not to mention that I’m pretty sure charly had me in mind when dyeing the first installment. TOTALLY my colours! Also, zen seaweed bunny! fun times!

And then, a whole group of my adelaide besties got together to get me a totally awesome gift voucher to the totally awesome Eat Sleep Knit, a store i have always admired and spent hours in (virtually) but never bought from, for the totally awesome sum of $100!!! The only problem now is deciding what to get!

I also finally spent (most of) my Twist Collective voucher that was part of my REALLY REALLY awesome christmas present from nett and greg

The SQUEAK has a number on the back of it that correlated to my Twist Collective voucher for a cool $40! So I got Farinelli, Sylvi, Dulce de Leche, Sottopassagio and Kiloran. I couldn’t decide on what i wanted to spend the last $7, so i’ll mull it over for a bit. I thought i might use my ESK voucher to grab a garment’s worth, maybe one of my newly acquired patterns but i JUST DON’T KNOW! Spent all last night looking through the pages and pages of pretties and need a little break! When I decide, I’ll let you know!

(TBH, that is one of the problems of having an impulse purchases stash which included sweater quantities of yarn… It’s hard to pick a project on the spot, because there’s already  409867024672 others in my house waiting to be made!)

It was also the birthday of my darling cousin Jade, 4 days before mine. She is the most understanding 10 year old in the world and was completely fine when i told her that her present would be a little late because i was still making it. You may remember her sister got a hand-knitted cardi for HER birthday, so she was expecting something awesome.

Well, this crocheted tunic is from the same book – the rowan story book of knits (except this isn’t knitted!). I ended up doing the 7/8 size with the 9/10 length, since a) Jade is very slim and b) despite getting gauge this is very wide. I took the armholes in a LOT more than they suggested (about 5 stitches either side) and it’s still a bit wide for her around her chest, but at least that means she’ll get years of wear out of it!

The colour is a little duskier than this, and please forgive the ends, but needed to grab a photo before i went to see her! I really like the shape and look of this pattern, but i think it’s flawed. next time i would definitely shape the armholes even more and make them not as deep.  (well, for jade anyway! she’s tiny!). Actually I’d quite like this as an adult pattern and i loved the lace

6 responses

Leave a Reply

